XSTO X12 Pro
The stair-climbing X12 with a powered, elevating legrest.
The X12 stair-climbing mobility robot with an electric elevating legrest. Wheel-and-track drive, self-levelling seat and a quoted 35 km range.
Key figures
- Maximum load
- 136 kguser plus luggage
- Weight
- 116 kgwithout batteries
- Quoted range
- 35 kmon flat ground
- Top speed
- 12 km/habout 7.5 mph
Manufacturer figures. Real-world range and performance depend on the user, terrain, temperature and speed.
Overview
The X12 Pro is the same stair-climbing, all-terrain machine as the X12. According to both XSTO's specification table and the UK distributor, the one difference is the legrest: on the Pro it is powered and elevates electrically, where the standard X12 has a manual legrest.
That can matter if you need to raise your legs regularly, for comfort or on clinical advice, and cannot easily reach down to adjust a legrest by hand. Everything else - the wheel-and-track chassis, stair-climbing speed, sensors and 35 km quoted range - is shared with the X12.
Good for
Highlights
- Electric elevating legrest (manual on the standard X12)
- Wheel-and-track system that climbs stairs at up to 25 steps a minute
- Three drive modes for flat ground, stairs and kerbs, and wide gaps
- Self-levelling seat with rocking mode, and front or side boarding
- LiDAR collision warning, rear parking radar and drop-off alerts
- Quoted range of 35 km on flat ground
Things to consider
Our honest notes, from XSTO’s figures and UK rules. Worth raising with the seller or your assessor.
- As heavy as the X12 (about 116 kg before batteries) and not designed to be lifted; you will need a vehicle with a ramp or hoist.
- Your stairs must meet XSTO's limits: steps under 200 mm, angle under 35°, and enough space on landings to turn.
- Top speed 12 km/h. XSTO does not state a UK class, so check the class and road equipment with the seller.
- VAT relief on class 3 vehicles depends on them being designed solely for disabled people; the supplier makes that call.
- It is the most expensive XSTO personal mobility product listed in the UK when we checked. Book a demonstration on stairs like yours before committing.
Full specifications
As published by XSTO, checked September 2026. Where XSTO’s pages disagree, we show both figures.
| Maximum load (user plus luggage) | 136 kg |
|---|---|
| Speed range | 0–12 km/h |
| Range on flat ground | 35 km |
| Stair-climbing speed | 25 steps a minute up, 30 down |
| Climbing ability | 15° on wheels, 40° on tracks |
| Obstacle clearance | 100 mm front / 220 mm rear |
| Gap crossing width | Under 180 mm on wheels, under 300 mm on tracks |
| Compatible steps | Step height under 200 mm, stair angle under 35° |
|---|---|
| Landing space needed | L-shaped turn 1400 × 1400 mm; U-shaped turn 1400 × 2000 mm |
| Drive modes | Four-wheel mode, wheel-and-track hybrid mode, twin-track mode |
| Weight without batteries | 116 kg (UK distributor quotes about 115.8 kg) |
|---|---|
| Folded (L × W × H) | 1200 × 685 × 617 mm (store page; 1185 mm long on the corporate page) |
| Unfolded (L × W × H) | 1210 × 685 × 1550 mm |
| Legrest | Electric (powered elevating) |
|---|---|
| Seat height (lifting range) | 490–762 mm |
| Seat tilt | -8° to 40° |
| Backrest recline | 90–121° |
| Seat size range | Depth 380–435 mm; width 390–440 mm |
| Boarding | From the front or the side |
| Batteries | Two lithium batteries, 25.2 V 25.6 Ah each |
|---|---|
| Charge time | 6.5 hours × 2 |
| Sensors | LiDAR collision warning, rear parking radar, alert for a drop or step ahead |
|---|
Certifications and approvals
We did not find product-specific certification documents (such as UKCA or CE declarations, or MHRA registration) on XSTO’s product pages. XSTO’s corporate site shows a range of approval marks without saying which apply to which model. If approvals matter to you, ask the seller for the documents for this model.
UK rules for this model
UK class: not stated by XSTO
XSTO quotes a top speed of 12 km/h. That is faster than the 4 mph (6 km/h) class 2 limit, so on pavements it must be kept to 4 mph. Road use needs a class 3 vehicle with the equipment GOV.UK lists, and class 3 vehicles must be registered with DVLA.
Ask the seller to confirm in writing which class it is supplied as, whether it needs DVLA registration, and whether VAT relief applies.
Where to buy in the UK
These UK sellers listed the XSTO X12 Pro when we checked (September 2026). Prices and availability change, so contact them directly. Links open in a new tab.
- Mobility Robot (Bentech Medical, UK distributor) - choose X12 Pro (opens in a new tab)
- Find a UK stockist (opens in a new tab)
More about buying XSTO in the UK, including stockists and what to ask.
Sources we checked
Information checked September 2026. Links open the original page in a new tab.
You might also compare
Stair-climbing mobility robot
XSTO X12
A stair-climbing, all-terrain mobility robot that keeps its seat level.
- Maximum load
- 136 kg user plus luggage
- Weight
- 115 kg without batteries
- Quoted range
- 35 km on flat ground
- Top speed
- 12 km/h about 7.5 mph
Good for:
- Stairs
- Outdoors
- Rough ground
- At home
All-terrain crossover powerchair
XSTO M8
New: launched September 2026
XSTO's four-wheel-drive crossover powerchair for town and trail.
- Maximum load
- 150 kg user plus luggage
- Weight
- 68.6 kg without batteries
- Quoted range
- 54 km maximum, with optional battery
- Top speed
- 12 km/h about 7.5 mph
Good for:
- Outdoors
- Rough ground
- At home
All-terrain crossover powerchair
XSTO M8 Pro
New: launched September 2026
The four-wheel-drive M8 with fully powered seating and a one-touch rest position.
- Maximum load
- 150 kg user plus luggage
- Weight
- 72.6 kg without batteries
- Quoted range
- 54 km maximum, with optional battery
- Top speed
- 12 km/h about 7.5 mph
Good for:
- Outdoors
- Rough ground
- At home